Sport for Women

Melody Francis

Type: Player/Athlete
Sports: Squash
Location: Australia

Melody Francis on Twitter

Q & A

Greatest sporting achievement: Commonwealth Games Team 2010 and winning the Victorian Open 2011

Greatest achievement off the field: Instead of hopping over a small hurdle I landed on it, causing it to spring up, bounce off my forehead to land 10ft away in the middle of the QAS gym. Mad skills.

Who is your sporting heroine? Vicki amazing athlete, mother, mentor and friend who I am beyond honoured to have been involved with.

How many hours per week to you train/exercise? 17 give or take a few.

What kind of diet or nutrition plan are you on? The newest diet sensation called "Melody put the chocolate down!" Seriously though I just try and limit the amount of 'bad stuff' I eat by really enjoying the good stuff!

What do you love about your sport? It's fast, exciting, mentally challenging and can never be perfected.

If you could change something about your sport, what would it be? The disparity in prize money between the men's and women's world tours.

What motivates you? To keep improving as an athlete and as a person.

Do you have a profession outside of your sport? University...does that count?

Three words that describe you? Laughing, shopping, sleeping (the main states you'll find me in!)

If I wanted to play your sport, what advice would you give me? The same advice I give to any squash player, "deeper length, volley, take your opportunities when you get them".


Melody Francis Supports Sport for Women Day

"Coming from a sport where men and women can compete in the same field in the same event (mixed doubles) I find it so disappointing that the men have more players, more money and more events.

I suppot Sport for Women Day becuase I want to see as many girls and women in sport as possible!

Women often provide a unique and fascinating approach to playing and competing in different sports that men aren't capable of replicating and this needs to be recognised and embraced."

Register now.